College Placements

First on-campus company test

ยท

2 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

First week of July and I received an email from my college's T&P for the registration of a company. The first company to be on-campus.

I'll share my backstory in brief. I am currently a Partner Success Engineering Intern Nimbbl, previously React Developer at Fusion Tech Process Consulting & at FuseBytes. I decided a long back that I won't sit on-campus and go with internships & off-campus placements. I am still figuring out my path but Product, Dev & DevOps is what I find fascinating.

Coming back to the topic I applied for the first company. It's exciting for someone as a final year student to sit for placements & I did want to experience that. Fast forward to a few days ago, I received a notification for company's test date. The company was offering 4LPA for a System Engineer's Role, decent enough? I did not have any experience with aptitude tests and this was supposed to be kinda my mock.

I dressed up the morning next to my birthday and went to college. The introduction was supposed to start at 9:30 which started at 11, not that I expected any better management. We were all made to sit in class with 2 students on a bench for a pen & paper test. Yesss! A pen & paper test. All that time spent I did not want to give the test yet decided to give it a try. The test started at 12 and now the fun begins...

Mathematics, Logical Reasoning understood. DSA questions on a paper seriously? As those were MCQs again understandable. Last part was code. We were supposed to write codes for 2 out of 3 questions on a paper. How on this earth was I supposed to debug or test for test-cases? All these semesters we had to write code on paper during exams, all we did was rote learn the codes. Now even during placements we have to write code on paper? I'll be honest, I wrote garbage code with print statements ๐Ÿ˜‚

I was supposed to put this a twitter thread but thought of writing a blog. My question here is college system is broken Tanay Pratap agrees too, why the job system needs to be that way? Off-campus is hard but not impossible, it needs patience and hard-work to crack companies, many students choose going abroad / masters / MBA just for better job opportunities & why, because the end goal is earning money anyway.

I went off-topic in the last paragraph but, yeah the test was not that great but the experience was definitely.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Atharva Shinde by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย